The 2009 Löhn Award

The latest round of prizewinners and projects

They came in wonder to see technology transfer in action – this year’s Löhn Award was bestowed during the Steinbeis Day on 25 September 2009. The prize for transfer excellence was awarded to three Steinbeis Enterprises and their project partners. Two honorary prizes were also awarded. The jury announced the awards to an audience of 500 invited guests at Stuttgart’s Liederhalle arts and convention center. The annual award, which was introduced in 2004 in honor of the lifetime achievements of Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. mult. Johann Löhn, recognizes outstanding transfer projects in fields using competitive technology along with knowledge transfer between science and business. The prize money is up to 60,000 euros.

The success of projects is measured by two key criteria: the quality of the actual transfer process, and discernible transfer potential. This is reflected in commercial usefulness for both the “know-how provider” (the Steinbeis Enterprise) and the “know-how recipient” (the customer). The jury awarded the prize to three project teams in 2009. First there was the Steinbeis Research Center International Vision Correction Research Centre, which was recognized for a joint project with EyeSense focusing on micro-implant sensor development for non-invasive blood glucose measurement in diabetic patients. Second, a prize was awarded to the School of Management and Innovation at Steinbeis University Berlin and its project partner, PSD Bank Berlin-Brandenburg. Their project looked at ways to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the PSD Bank customer magazine and thus improve overall bank communication. A third prize was awarded to the Steinbeis Consulting Center for Regional Development and Economic Development and the township of Bad Peterstal- Griesbach, whose joint efforts resulted in a community development concept for coping with demographic change. Apart from the projectbased prize winners, two honorary prizes were awarded as part of the 2009 Löhn Award. Professor Dr.-Ing. Nikolaus Kappen was honored for his outstanding contributions as head of the Steinbeis Transfer Center for Computer Applications. Finally, Professor Dr. rer. nat. Dr.-Ing. E. h. Max Syrbe was honored for his outstanding personal contributions to know-how and technology transfer as long-serving member of the Board of Trustees and Chairman of the Steinbeis Foundation Committee. The following pages provide more detail on the prize winners and their projects.

Share this page